Mar 31, 2012; New Orleans, LA, USA; The Kansas Jayhawks mascot celebrates after defeating the Ohio State Buckeyes 64-62 in the semifinals of the 2012 NCAA men

Jayhawks Sweep to Win Tournament Title

The Jayhawks won their seventh straight game on Saturday night against the Wyoming Cowgirls to win the Jayhawk Invitational Title. Kansas swept right past Wyoming, 25-13, 25-21, 25-18, to earn their longest unbeaten span since beginning the 2010 season at 7-0.

For the second consecutive tournament, redshirt junior Caroline Jarmoc earned the Tournament MVP honor. She finished the match against the Cowgirls with a team-high 13 kills and a .478 hitting percentage. For the entire weekend, Jarmoc had a .541 attack percentage with 38 kills and 11 blocks.

According to, Jarmoc had this to say when asked about what the team learned from their seven game home stand…

“We’re an elite team. We should never doubt ourselves and this year we are going to be a game finishing team. Pressure is something that we should not feel because we should have control on our side.”

Just like in the Kansas Volleyball Invitational, Jarmoc was not the only Jayhawk to earn All-Tournament honors in the Jayhawk Invitational. Other Jayhawks that were named to the All-Tournament team were senior middle blocker Tayler Tolefree and junior libero Brianne Riley.

During their final match against Wyoming, Tolefree racked up a season-high 12 kills. On the other hand, Riley capped off an amazing weekend for KU with a total of 59 digs on the weekend. This brought her career digs total to 1,078 and moved her to seventh on KU’s all-time list.

Kansas will now travel to South Bend, Indiana next weekend for the Notre Dame Tournament. This will be the first time the Jayhawks will be playing on the road since their loss to Arkansas during the Arkansas Tournament. The other teams that will be playing in the Notre Dame Tournament include: Notre Dame, Xavier, and Loyola Marymount.

Jayhawk Invitational All-Tournament Team
Caroline Jarmoc, Kansas, MVP
Tayler Tolefree, Kansas
Brianne Riley, Kansas
Macey Gardner, Arizona State
Erica Wilson, Arizona State
Becky Stewart, Wyoming
Emily Neideffer, College of Charleston

Make sure to follow me on Twitter @RickyWidmer.

Follow the Through the Phog on Twitter @ThroughthePhog and like us on Facebook at Through the Phog.

Check out my other writings on the Oregon Ducks blog, Autzen Zoo.

Tags: Brianne Riley Caroline Jarmoc Kansas Jayhawks Tayler Tolefree Volleyball

comments powered by Disqus